If Scoring was as Easy as Defying Gravity


Then Bafana Bafana would be number one in the world – or at least feature in the top 20…(scrunches up nose) I think.

Sibusiso Zuma: a man capable of flipping the Bafana script
Sibusiso Zuma: a man capable of flipping the Bafana script

(new.bbc.co.uk)

I’m no soccer critic but with a stunt like the one Brother Sibusiso Zuma pulled in the Africa Cup of Nations 2008, one would hope that this euphoric momentum would stick for years to come. This Durban-born striker-cum-celeb was exstacic after he scored during their 2 June 2007 match against Chad.

Fast-forwarding to the current mood. Recently, Bafana Bafana players demanded bonus increases. But since then the boys have won – wag a bietjie, can someone do the maths and fill me later? Chances are, nowing their track-record (based on what I heard through the grapevine), these guys ain’t win much. So where do people get off demanding bonuses? Beats me…

A bit more of this, please...
A bit more of this, please…
And a bit less of this...
And a bit less of this…

 

 Last I checked you are rewarded for doing well. Not making an appearance. I repeat though, I am no expert. I’m sure many Bafana Fans out there will beg to differ with my critique. And I welcome their comments…but in an open, and tolerant, arena of debate.

Sorry to dig a little deeper into the wound but I must add. Once performance is on a “chapion standard” or close to this ideal, then perhaps bonuses will not need to be demanded. They’ll be too busy counting the amount of zeros appearing on their paychecks from the various endorsements they nab.

The fact is, no one likes a loser. And especially not a sports boss. In the really world people are dispensible. They are replaced if they don’t get the job done. Maybe it’s time for some Bafana reshuffling…

Ah...that looks like a winner...I think (my knowledge is admittedly limited)

Ah...that looks like a winner...I think (my knowledge is admittedly limited)

And we could do with a bit more of a celbratory, patriotic and proud attitude. Now is not the time to air out your laundry, guys…

The Confeds are around the corner!!!! And they’re HERE in Mzansi. Let’s enjoy the  moment in true Sibusiso fashion.

~ by Thandie on June 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

